top of page
Search

Discovering a Home Away From Home

Zealand Davis grew up a few hours north of Los Angeles, in Santa Maria, California, traveling back and forth with his family for sporting tournaments. As a teenager, he began volunteering at a family-friends ranch and showing sheep in his early years, where his burning passion for the agricultural industry ignited.


Zealand grew up in a very athletic and competitive home. Both of his parents are record-holding collegiate athletes, and his sister played on many traveling softball teams. As soon as his feet hit the green shavings in the stock show ring, he knew he would one day pursue a career in the agricultural industry.

“A lot of my mom and dad’s friends are ranchers and farmers,” Davis said. “So, I was able to help with brandings and visit ranches and farms a lot. I didn't get into it myself until I was about 12 when I showed my first sheep. It opened my eyes to what I really enjoy in life, which is agriculture. In my teenage years is when I really began to grow love for agriculture.”

His passions and experiences in agriculture helped lead him to attending Texas Tech University. He learned about the university through a fellow classmate who would be making the long, 20-hour drive to Lubbock in the fall after graduation. Davis knew the Davis College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources was the place for him.

Zealand was nervous to be moving far from his family and home. His father, a salesman for ag related products, encouraged him to pursue an education in agricultural economics to help him be even more successful in the field of sales, which he plans to pursue after graduation.

Davis’s parents have been his motivators in life, especially in college. He said the combination of his mother’s work ethic and his dad’s social skills and determination helped him become who he is today and successful in his future.

After moving to Texas Tech, Davis was introduced to FarmHouse Fraternity through a close friend who knew a few of the members, and was immediately welcomed in and encouraged to go through recruitment.

“My friend Kennedy introduced me into FarmHouse. She knew a lot of the guys in the fraternity and invited me to go meet them. I thought it was going to be a stereotypical fraternity, but they invited me in and were super hospitable. It immediately felt like a good group of guys,” he said.

Although Davis did not join FarmHouse until spring rush, he encourages people to join during Fall recruitment.

“Spring rush is a little more laid back. However, I do wish I went through fall rush sometimes,” Davis said. “I didn't understand how to sign up for Fall rush, because I'm from out of state,” he said.

While FarmHouse may be one of the smaller fraternities on Greek Circle, the fraternity prides itself on the quality of its members. Davis said each member has made his time at Texas Tech more enjoyable, and he has met some of his best friends while in the fraternity. He has also had many exciting and unique opportunities through FarmHouse.

“The number one experience that I've had because of FarmHouse that I wouldn't have had elsewhere, was this January. We had the opportunity to travel to St. Louis for the FarmHouse Leadership Institute,” Davis said. “It felt like a big part of growing up and a natural progression to do that with my organization in college.”

After college, Davis plans to become a seed salesman, and he hopes to make a positive impact on the agricultural industry in Texas and abroad. He encourages anyone following in a path similar to his own to join student organizations, like FarmHouse, and to never be afraid to take a risk.

“Don't be scared or nervous to take a chance,” Davis said. “Joining FarmHouse has been one of the best decisions I have ever made.”
26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page